

## Support Group Leader Training – Lesson 2 Subject: What is the Trigeminal Nerve

The trigeminal nerve consists of 3 nerve branches:

- 1. Ophthalmic eye, forehead and nose.
- 2. Maxillary upper teeth, gums and lip, the cheek, lower eyelid and the side of the nose.
- 3. Mandibular lower teeth, gums and lip.
- 4. The nerve transmits pressure, touch, pain and temperature signals to the brain and controls jaw movement.
- 5. TN pain can involve one or more branches of the trigeminal nerve.

The three divisions of the trigeminal nerve come together in an area called the Gasserion Ganglion. From there, the trigeminal nerve root continues back towards the side of the brain stem, and inserts into the pons.

Within the brain stem the signals travelling through the trigeminal nerve reach specialised clusters of neurons called the trigeminal nerve nucleus.

Information brought to the brain stem by the trigeminal nerve is then processed before being sent to the cerebral cortex, where a conscious perception of facial sensation is generated.

Please complete the Knowledge Test – What Is the Trigeminal Nerve? Quiz 2 - before moving to the next training file