Posted on Leave a comment

New Committee – April 2023

Following the associations AGM a new committee has been nominated and approved, and the Special Resolution to adopt the updated Constitution was approved.

The new committee is as follows

President – Kim O’Donnell

Kim joined the Association in August 2022 when she answered the volunteer call to become a Support Group Leader for her area in the Toowoomba and Lockyer Valley Region.  Kim worked through the online training modules and set up fortnightly zoom support meetings every fortnight.  Join her Facebook group to be notified of new meetings and access to the zoom meeting link. You can check out the group  HERE Everyone is welcome wherever you live.  Kim runs her family brickworks business and has a background in counselling.  She has also donated a dedicated mobile line so anyone with trigeminal neuralgia, who needs to gain support, can call at any time.  The number is 0402 982 118

Vice President – Helen Tyzack

Helen was elected in 2022 in this position and retains the Vice Presidency this year.  Helen has immense experience in business and administration and has professionalised the associations data and communication management.  Helen also runs the Tasmanian Support Group and interacts with all external stakeholders.  She also designs, writes and publishes the quarterly newsletter.

Treasurer – Angelo Trovato

Angelo has again taken on the role of the treasurer, ensuring all monies received are appropriately recorded and both the CBA and PayPal accounts are managed in accordance with the ACNC guidelines.  Angelo has held this position for 10 years.  We would love a volunteer to consider nominating for this position next year.

Secretary – Sarah Wilkinson

Sarah joined the committee last June and has contributed hugely adding information to various Facebook groups around the country.  She is also working on geo mapping our membership with the long-term aim to create local visual networks for TN sufferers to connect using a Buddy System.  She has taken on the role as Secretary this year.

General Committee Member – Peter Gough

Peter has been a committee member for many years and is also the Gold Coast Support Group Leader.  Peter has a background in education and currently manages the Associations official Facebook page.

General Committee Member – Nora English

Nora has again nominated for the committee.  Her background in Occupational Therapy has provided advice to enable TN sufferers the best way to approach life.  Nora has served on the committee since 2020 and is also the Sunshine Coast Support Group Leader.

General Committee Member – Haley Plaza

Haley is located in Townsville and is a nurse.  She has huge knowledge around the workings of the health system and is keen to provide advocacy for all TN sufferers.  She was heavily involved with the Light Up In Teal International Event on October 7th, photographing all of the Townsville landmarks which were lit up and featured in an article in the local newspaper.  We welcome her to the committee.

General Committee Member – Susan Leaman

Susan is a very experienced Ex Public Servant working for Services Australia for 26 years. During that time her roles were varied but predominantly as a Project Manager within the Medicare program.  We know Susan will add great value to the committee.
Non Committee Volunteer – Lyn Donnelly
Lyn has been involved with the Association since April 2021.  Although she has stepped away from the committee decision making process,  she will manage the membership process, administration of the website and article research and publication along with publishing the monthly ENEWS digital newsletter.
Posted on Leave a comment

TNA Australia AGM 2023 – Information

Our Annual General Meeting will be held online on Saturday 1st April at 10.30am for Tasmania, Vic, ACT and NSW time; please adjust this time if you live in another state or territory – please check.

It is important to note a member can only vote if they are a current financial member.  You are required to login to your account to access the members library to “nominate a committee member” and for your vote in the “Special Resolution” to be valid.

The Zoom online link is highlighted below:

AGM Meeting Link

or post the below URL into your browser


In addition to the new committee of management being elected during the AGM, a significant agenda item is the ratification of the new revised Constitution by which the organisation will operate.

Our Constitution
Twenty years ago inaugural President, Irene Wood, wrote a Constitution to guide Trigeminal Neuralgia Association Australia and it enabled the organisation’s incorporation within NSW.

Two decades on, the world is a different place. The digital era has been consolidated and this means that our existing Constitution fails to recognise the changes. The existing Constitution does not meet all the requirements of a number of pieces of legislation, and in addition, it directs some very specific actions which our committee no longer wishes to make.

In the last half of 2022 a new Constitution was written that absorbed NSW legislation and regulations for Incorporated Associations, the requirements of the Australian Charities and Not Profit Commission (ACNC), and other federal legislative requirements.

Since the committee gave approval to the new Constitution, the document has been submitted for a legal opinion and we now know the revision is sound.


Agenda for AGM – 1st April 2023

  • Call to order:



  1. Approval of minutes from the AGM of June 2022: TNA Australia AGM Minutes 2022
  2. The President’s report: AGM 2023 President's Report
  3. The Secretary Members Report: AGM 2023 Membership Report
  4. Treasurers report: AGM 2023 Treasurer Financial Report, AGM 2023 Financial Audit Report 2022
  5. Facebook report: AGM 2023 Facebook Report
  6. Special Resolution *** a) TNAA Original Constitution 2002b) TNAA Updated Constitution 2023c) AGM Meeting 2023 Special Resolution
  7. Election of committee members
  8. Other Business

*** Special resolution proposed:
The members resolve that the revised Constitution be adopted as the Rules for Trigeminal Neuralgia Association Australia Incorporated

Please download the special resolution (c) and complete voting instructions

  • Meeting closed at:

Details of nominations to committee posts will be recorded below


please make your nominations through the nomination page see link below:

Nominate Your Committee